Trash Cards


Monday | Chelsea/ Saluda | 2:00-6:00pm | Located across the HWY from the Chelsea General Store 

Tuesday | Deputy | 2:00-6:00pm | Located at the grain bins at feed mill

Wednesday | Dupont | 2:00-6:00pm | Located at the feed mill

Thursday | Rykers Ridge | 2:00-6:00pm | Located near Wolf Run Road

Friday | Canaan | 1:00-3:00pm | Located Canaan Fire Company

Friday | Brooksburg | 4:00-6:00pm | Located at the park 

Service Guidelines

  • Trash card fee is $50 per year. Trash cards expire at the end of each calendar year.
  • Trash cards can be purchased each year at the Jefferson County Auditor's Office in the Courthouse at 300 E Main Street, Madison, Indiana 47250. 
  • Residents are required to present trash cards to the Jefferson County employee prior to drop off. If you do not have a card, you will not be permitted to dump your trash until you have a card in hand.
  • According to Federal Law, Rumpke is not permitted to accept batteries, tires, liquids, combustible materials or any items identified as hazardous.
  • The service is meant for household trash.
  • The service and guidelines are presented by the order of the Jefferson County Commissioners

Holiday Schedule

Rumpke collection will not occur on the following holidays and service will be delayed 1 day during the week
  • Thanksgiving
  • Christmas
  • New Year's Day

For a printable version of this information, please click here.

For information regarding the purchase of a trash card,
please contact the Auditor’s Office at 812-265-8907.

For information regarding issues with the trash collection and general comments or concerns,
please contact the Commissioner’s Office at 812-265-8944 or submit a Report a Concern Form.